Executive Committee

Romalita Laban, President

HEEF Member since 2003

Romalita Laban is a consultant for Romalita Laban Consulting and Co-Manager of Laban Construction. She has a B.A. in Business Administration from Northern Arizona University, and also holds certificates in Business & Management, Human Resource Management, and Marketing. Romalita is an enrolled member of the Hopi Tribe from the village of Walpi (Qa'öwungwa [Corn] Clan). 

Romalita Laban HEEF member

Trevor Reed, Vice President

HEEF Member since 2014

Trevor Reed is Director of the Hopi Music Repatriation Project. He is currently a JD and PhD candidate, studying at Columbia University. He holds a B.M. in in Music Composition from Brigham Young University, and an M.A. from Columbia in Arts Administration. Trevor is from the village of Hotevilla.


Tim Evans, Treasurer

HEEF Member since 2012

Tim Evans is an attorney with Holland & Knight, LLP in Los Angeles, California. He holds a B.A. in Sociology from Harvard University, an M.A. in Public Affairs from Princeton University and a J.D. from Cornell Law School. Tim is affiliated with the Haliwa-Saponi tribe of North Carolina. 


Debbie Nez Manuel, Secretary

HEEF Member since 2014

Debbie Nez Manuel works as Executive Director of Morning Star Leaders, Inc. She holds a B.S. from Northern Arizona University in Social Work, a master's in Social Work from Arizona State University, and has completed the Generation Next Nonprofit Leadership Academy program through Arizona State University's Lodestar Center. Debbie is Navajo.

Debbie Nez Manuel HEEF member

Pamela Powell HEEF member

Dr. Pamela Powell, Executive Commitee

HEEF Member since 2009

Dr. Pamela Powell serves as Associate Professor and Chair at Northern Arizona University's Department of Teaching and Learning. She holds a B.S. in Elementary Education/Physical Education from Texas Tech University, a master's in Elementary Education/Reading from Arizona State University, and an educational doctorate in Curriculum and Instruction/Early Childhood from Northern Arizona University. 



Stephanie Parker, Executive Committee

HEEF Member since 2011

Stephanie Parker works as an independent business development consultant. Stephanie is of Irish heritage and a native Bostonian. Stephanie holds a B.S. in Chemistry from Merrimack College and an M.B.A. from Babson College. 

Stephanie Parker HEEF member

Dr. Angela Gonzales

Founding member

Dr. Angela Gonzales is Professor of Justice & Social Inquiry at Arizona State University.  She holds a B.A. In Sociology from the University of California, Riverside, an M.A. in Education Policy and Management from the Harvard Graduate School of Education, and a Ph.D. in Sociology from Harvard University. Dr. Gonzales is an enrolled member of the Hopi Tribe from the village of Shungopavi (Kookyangngyam [Spider] Clan).

Janet Regner

Member since 2005

Janet Regner is Director of Coconino County Community Services. She is originally from Springfield, Illinois but has lived in Arizona for over 40 years. Regner has an A.A. in Business from Southern Illinois University and a B.S. in Public Administration from Ottawa University.

Janet Regner HEEF Member

Darold Joseph

Member since 2011

Darold Joseph is an American Indian Studies lecturer at Northern Arizona University. He holds a B.S. in Elementary Education and an Ed.M. in Educational Leadership, both from Northern Arizona University. He is also a Ph.D. candidate at the University of Arizona. Joseph is an enrolled Hopi (Iswungwa [Coyote] Clan)from the village of Moencopi.  

Darold Joseph HEEF member

Dr. Kim Kahe-Corkin

Member since 2013

Dr. Kim Kahe-Corkin works as Lead Grants Manager for the US Dept. of Housing and Urban Development. She holds a B.S. in Business Administration, an M.B.A. in Healthcare Management, and a D.B.A., all from the University of Phoenix. Kim is an enrolled Hopi Tribe member (Isngyam [Coyote] Clan) from Sipaulovi Village. 

Kim_Corkin (6).JPG

Dr. K. Tsianina Lomawaima

Member since 2014

Dr. K. Tsianina Lomawaima is Professor of Justice, Inquiry, & Indigenous Education at Arizona State University. She is Mvskoke (Creek Nation of Oklahoma) and German Mennonite, from central Kansas. She was married to the late Hartman H. Lomawaima from Sipaulovi Village. Tsianina has three anthropology degrees - a B.A. from the University of Arizona and an M.A. and Ph.D. from Stanford University.


Dr. Winifred Wong

Member since 2014

Dr. Winifred Wong is founder and CEO of Superior Enterprise Consulting, L.L.C. Her family immigrated to the United States from Hong Kong in the late 1970s and she currently resides in Glendale, Arizona. Winifred holds a B.S. in Pharmacy from the University of Montana, as well as an M.B.A. in Healthcare Management and a Ph.D. in Business Administration from the University of Phoenix.


James Surveyor

Member since 2014

James Surveyor is the Operations Developer at Moenkopi Developers Corporation. He has an associate's degree from the College of Eastern Utah. James is a Hopi Tribe member from Kykotsmovi Village. 

Bruce Talawyma

Member since 2014

Bruce Talawyma retired from Indian Health Services and currently volunteers as a DJ and radio host for the Hopi radio station, KUYI. He has an A.A. in Business Administration. Bruce is an enrolled member of the Hopi Tribe from the village of Hotevilla. 

Dr. Laura Huenneke

Member since 2015

Dr. Laura Heunneke is Professor of Environmental Science at Northern Arizona University. She grew up in St. Louis, Missouri, part of families of French, Scotch-Irish, and German heritage. Laura has a B.A. in Biological Sciences from the University of Missouri-Columbia and a Ph.D. in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology from Cornell University.

Laura Huenneke HEEF

Lynn Fredericks

Member since 2015

Lynn Fredericks teaches English at Hopi Jr./Sr. High School.  She is Díbéłzhíní (Black Sheep, Navajo) Clan and her paternal clan is Patkingyam (Water, Hopi). Lynn holds a B.A. in Broadcast Journalism from Arizona State University, an M.A. in Bilingual/Multicultural Education, and an M.A. in Educational Leadership - both from Northern Arizona University.

Lynn_Fredericks (3).JPG

Justin Hongeva

Member since 2015

Justin Hongeva serves as the Outreach Coordinator for the University of Arizona's College of Medicine. He holds a bachelor's and a master's degree in American Indian Studies from Arizona State University. Justin is a Hopi Tribal member from Lower Moencopi Village and belongs to the Qa’ӧngyam (Corn) Clan. 


Dianne Lomahaftewa-Albert

Member since 2015

Dianne Lomahaftewa-Albert teaches math at Hopi Junior/Senior High School. She has a B.A. in Elementary Education. Dianne is a Hopi tribal member (Nuvangyam [Snow] Clan) from Shungopavi Village.

Candace Hamana

Member since 2016

Candace Hamana serves as Tribal Relations and Strategic Initiatives Analyst for Central Arizona Project. She holds a bachelor's in Journalism and Mass Communications from the University of South Carolina. Candace is a member of the Hopi Tribe (Honanngyam [Badger] Clan) from Upper Moencopi Village. 

Tessie Gregg Moate

Member since 2016

Tessie Gregg Moate is now retired after serving as Career Counselor and Academic Advisor at Northern Arizona University (NAU). She holds a B.A. in Psychology/Sociology and an M.A. in Education from NAU. Tessie is Hopi (Honanngyam [Badger] Clan) and Inupiat from Kykotsmovi Vilage.

Jana Wilbricht

Member since 2016

Jana Wilbricht is a Ph.D. candidate and graduate student instructor at the University of Michigan. She has a bachelor's degree in Development Sociology & Communication from Cornell University. Jana is originally from Germany.

Jana_Wilbricht (4).jpg

Ex Officio Members

Herman Honanie, Chairman, Hopi Tribe

Alfred Lomaquahu, Vice Chairman, Hopi Tribe

Ruth Kewanimptewa, Tribal Council Representative, Hopi Tribe